Charcoal Botanical

My first project at art school is a study of location. We visited the Melbourne Botanical Gardens to collect imagery around the Arid Garden. I paid a lot of attention to dead cacti and focused on the the detailed texture and folds in their shriveled, cast-off leaves:

1

 

After making some small drawings from the photos of dead cacti I was encouraged to try something at a larger scale. Way bigger than my comfort zone.  This piece is about 1.5 metres square: the biggest drawing I’ve ever tried. Everything in my studio corner was covered in a thin layer of charcoal dust.

1

 

Closeup detail photos:

5    4

3    2

One comment

Leave a Reply

